Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

Better Forecasts: Be a Better Predictor


Total Credits: 2 including 2 Accounting - Technical

Average Rating:
   72
Categories:
ACPEN Industry Institute |  Industry |  Accounting and Auditing
Faculty:
John Levy, MBA, CPA
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
2 Hours
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

Imagine being able to see into the future with confidence.  The ability to be a great forecaster is not innate but learned.  By examining great forecasters, we can learn to improve our ability to predict the future.  We will examine best practices and current research to improve our ability to predict events that will affect our business.  

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Learn techniques that will improve your forecasting ability

Major Subjects
  • Why an open mind and the ability to doubt helps make great predictions
  • Why it is better to be a fox than a hedgehog
  • How non-conformists change the world
  • How to focus on what matters
  • How to learn from the past without hindsight bias

Course Materials

Faculty

John Levy, MBA, CPA's Profile

John Levy, MBA, CPA Related Seminars and Products


John F. Levy, MBA, CPA, is the CEO of Board Advisory Services, a consulting firm that assists public companies, or companies aspiring to be public, with corporate governance, compliance, financial reporting and financial strategies. He has nine years of experience with three large, national accounting firms and has served  as CFO of both public and private companies. John currently serves on the Board of Directors of three public companies, including as vice-chairman of one company and audit committee chair of another. He graduated from the University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School of Business.


Dates

Fri, Jul 26, 2024 - 04:00pm to 06:00pm EDT
Wed, Aug 07, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Thu, Aug 15, 2024 - 06:00pm to 08:00pm EDT
Mon, Sep 09, 2024 - 02:00pm to 04:00pm EDT
Sat, Sep 14, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Thu, Sep 19, 2024 - 06:00pm to 08:00pm EDT
Mon, Oct 07, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Fri, Oct 25, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Tue, Nov 12, 2024 - 02:00pm to 04:00pm EST
Mon, Nov 25, 2024 - 04:00pm to 06:00pm EST
Mon, Dec 02, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EST
Wed, Dec 11, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EST
Wed, Dec 18, 2024 - 02:00pm to 04:00pm EST
Sat, Dec 21, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EST
Wed, Jan 15, 2025 - 09:00am to 11:00am EST
Fri, Jan 31, 2025 - 11:00am to 01:00pm EST
Fri, Feb 07, 2025 - 11:00am to 01:00pm EST
Wed, Feb 19, 2025 - 03:00pm to 05:00pm EST
Wed, Mar 12, 2025 - 09:00am to 11:00am EDT
Sat, Mar 15, 2025 - 11:00am to 01:00pm EDT
Tue, Mar 25, 2025 - 07:00pm to 09:00pm EDT
Fri, Apr 04, 2025 - 01:00pm to 03:00pm EDT
Thu, Apr 17, 2025 - 03:00pm to 05:00pm EDT
Tue, May 13, 2025 - 09:00am to 11:00am EDT
Wed, May 28, 2025 - 07:00pm to 09:00pm EDT
Mon, Jun 09, 2025 - 01:00pm to 03:00pm EDT
Sat, Jun 14, 2025 - 11:00am to 01:00pm EDT
Tue, Jun 17, 2025 - 03:00pm to 05:00pm EDT
Fri, Jun 27, 2025 - 09:00am to 11:00am EDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites

Some budgeting and forecasting experience


Advanced Preparation None
Designed For

CFOs, Controllers, Budget Managers and other professionals who work on budgets and forecasts


Original Recording Date 04/07/2022
Course Developer

The Knowledge Institute


Date Added to Catalog 03/24/2022
Yellow Book No

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Promo Video

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.6

Total Reviews: 72

Comments

Alynn P

"Nice job"

Felicia E

"I thought the course was very informative and I greatly enjoyed the speaker. He made an otherwise dry topic interesting and relevant."

Thomas F - Portage, Michigan

"I like how John mixes in relevant stories with his presentations -- makes the webinar much more interesting. "

Kristen W

"I really enjoyed this course. I believe it should be a course everyone should listen to. Question everything and be willing to change when presented with new facts are very critical in any accounting profession."

Lynne D - Austin, Texas

"I really liked the speaker, the subject matter, and his presentation style (examples and stories) to make his points stick with me. "

Jay S

"Outstanding Discussion!!!"

James M - Bellingham, Washington

"Excellent. Good things to ponder!"

Mark A

"Great Course"

Neil D - Pensacola, Florida

"Mr. Levy did an outstanding job on this subject. Highly recommend this course."